Asia University Awarded an Honorary Doctorate to Lisa Su, CEO & Chair of AMD

  • 2023-02-15

Prof. Jeffrey J. P. Tsai, President of Asia University, (left) awarded an honorary doctorate to Lisa Su, CEO and Chair of AMD

Asia University (AU), Taiwan, awarded an honorary doctorate to Lisa Su, CEO and Chair of Advanced Micro Devices Inc. (AMD). “I am honored to receive an honorary doctorate from Asia University. Technology plays an increasingly critical role in improving our daily lives and the students at Asia University will help make up our next generation of innovators and problem solvers,” said Dr. Lisa Su, Chair and CEO of AMD.

During the Lunar New Year (the Spring Festival), Prof. Jeffrey J. P. Tsai, President of Asia University, Professor Wen-Thong Chang, Associate Dean of the College of Information and Electrical Engineering, Chair Professor Kuan-Tsae Huang, Chair Professor Zon-Yin Shae, Chair Professor Gene Sheu, and other AU faculty members visited AMD in the United States. They paid a visit to Dr. Lisa Su, and presented her with an honorary doctorate from Asia University. The AMD executives and chief engineers, including Alan Lee, David Wang, Angela Dalton, Mike Schulte, and Eddy Chang were also in attendance at the award ceremony. President Tsai observed in the ceremony that, in the future, we will deepen the academic cooperation in the areas of AI, chip design, and high-speed computing in medical care, metaverse, post-quantum information security, and SDGs, and he anticipates that more international collaborations between AU and AMD are in the works in the near future.

Dr. Lisa Su is a native Taiwanese who moved to the US as a young child. She graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Electrical Engineering and was elected as a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Before joining AMD, she worked as an electrical engineer for several well-known tech firms, such as Texas Instruments, IBM, and Freescale Semiconductor. Dr. Lisa Su is AMD's first female Taiwanese CEO and a top scientist in semiconductor equipment and high-performance processors. AMD initiated the use of copper to replace aluminum in chip manufacturing and successfully increased the speed of semiconductor chips by 20%. She is the first woman to be awarded the "Robert N. Noyce Medal," known as the Semiconductor Nobel Prize; she is also a member of US President Joe Biden's Science and Technology Advisory Council and was selected as the 2022 Most Influential Women by Fortune magazine and the 2022 International Peace Honoree.

President Jeffrey J. P. Tsai (the second one from left) with his wife (the fourth from left), Chair Professor Kuan-Tsae Huang (the first from left), Chair Professor Zon-Yin Shae (the fifth from left), and Associate dean Wen-Thong Chang (the sixth from left) visited AMD Company and took a group photo with Lisa Su, CEO and Chair of AMD.

“Dream Big!” Dr. Lisa Su told the MIT PhD graduates in 2017 when she was invited to deliver a speech at its graduation ceremony. She encouraged the graduates to bravely pursue their dreams, to courageously take risks, and to learn enthusiastically from failure. Her visionary leadership vindicates her statement as she led MD at a low ebb to the world's top technology company.President Tsai in his remarks continued to observe that 18 professors from Asia University were chosen by Stanford University as "The Top 2% Top Scientists in the World" from 8 million scientists in 2022. Prof. Gupta, one of the top 0.1% scientists in the world, is chairing AU’s "International Center for AI and Cyber Security Research and Innovations." Prof. Gupta is the only "Computer Science" winner from both Taiwan and India, demonstrating that Asia University's strong commitment to actively recruit renowned scholars from around the world.